Department of Public Enterprises

Director General | Mr. Athula Kumara

Director General Public Enterprises

Mr. P.A.S. Athula Kumara

P.A.S.Athula Kumara is an old boy of Bandaranayaka College, Gampaha and he is a Bsc Management (Public Admin.) (Special) degree holder from the University of Sri Jayawardhanapura. He obtained his Masters degree in Business Studies in the University of Colombo. Athula Kumara is a Class I Officer of Sri Lanka Accountants Service. And also he is a member of Chartered Public Accountant in the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka and Member of Chartered Institute of Public Finance & Accountancy, London.

Having joined the Public Service in 1991 as an Audit Examiner in Auditor General’s Department, he entered the Sri Lanka Accountants Service in 1992 and served as the Accountant in Lankapura Divisional Secretariat of Polonnaruwa District and in Thalawa Divisional Secretariat of Anuradhapura from 1992 – 1997. During the period of 1997 – 2005, served as an Accountant in Director’s Office of Agriculture in the North Central Province and worked 2 years in the Ministry of Mahaweli, Irrigation, Rajarata Development and Agriculture in Battaramulla.

P.A.S.Athula Kumara joined the Department of Public Enterprises, Ministry of Finance in 2007 and held several positions in the Department. Currently he is working as the Director General in Department of Public Enterprises.

He has gained foreign trainings and exposures in related to Accounting Financial Management, Strategic plan & Risk Management from reputed international Institutions/Universities.

He has also been a Director/Board Member of several Statutory Institutions including Colombo Commercial Fertilizer, Mantai Salt Ltd., Building Material Corporation, Ceylon Agro Industries Ltd., Lanka Hydrolic Ltd., Ceylon Ceramics Corporation. And also he served as a member of several Expert Committees of Sri Lanka Transport Board, National water Supply & Drainage Board, Road Development Authority. In addition, Athula Kumara worked as the Chief Executive Officer in the Local Development Fund from 2012-2014.